Lead members

The LGA Labour Group officers appoint Labour lead members and teams to LGA member structures.


The LGA Labour Group officers appoint Labour lead members and teams to LGA member structures. The lead members are part of the LGA Labour Group Executive Team. Their role is to establish Labour priorities within their policy and service area with their teams and ensure that this shapes the work of the cross-party LGA.

The lead members are the LGA Labour Group's principle political spokespeople in their respective areas. They lead external work in their policy and service areas on behalf of the LGA Labour Group, at meetings, events and by publishing articles. They also represent Labour local government with shadow ministerial teams to ensure local government's experience and priorities form a core part of Labour's national priorities.

Full details of each LGA board's membership, meeting dates and work programme for 2022/23.

Our lead members for 2022/23:

Children and Young People Board
Chair: Cllr Louise Gittins (Cheshire West and Chester)
Louise.gittins@cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk

City Regions Board
Chair: Mayor Marvin Rees (Bristol)
mayor@bristol.gov.uk

Community Wellbeing Board 
Vice Chair: Cllr Peter Marland (Milton Keynes)
peter.marland@milton-keynes.gov.uk

Culture, Tourism and Sport Board
Deputy chair: Cllr Shabir Pandor (Kirklees)                                                              shabir.pandor@kirklees.gov.uk

Environment, Economy, Housing and Transport Board
Vice chair: Darren Rodwell (Barking and Dagenham)
darren.rodwell@lbbd.gov.uk

Improvement and Innovation Board
Deputy Chair: Cllr Brigid Jones (Birmingham)
Brigid.jones@birmingham.gov.uk

People and Places Board
Deputy chair: Cllr Amanda Serjeant (Chesterfield)
amanda.serjeant@chesterfield.gov.uk

Resources Board
Chair: Cllr Andrew Western (Trafford)
Andrew.western@trafford.gov.uk

Safer and Stronger Communities Board
Chair: Cllr Nesil Caliskan (Enfield)
cllr.nesil.caliskan@enfield.gov.uk

Fire Services Management Committee
Vice chair: Dr Fiona Twycross AM (London)
fiona.twycross@london.gov.uk