Chairman and Vice-Chairs

Elected members provide direction and oversee the work of the LGA. Governance structures are led by a senior group of members from each of the four political groups.

Cllr James Jamieson – LGA Chairman

Cllr James Jamieson was first elected to Central Bedfordshire Council in 2009 and served as a Chair of Scrutiny. He was elected as Leader following the 2011 elections and currently represents the Westoning Ward having previously represented Flitwick.

Cllr Jamieson has lived in Bedfordshire since the mid-eighties. He is a qualified engineer with a Masters degree from Sheffield University, and worked in industry and banking for over 20 years before setting up his own consultancy providing strategic advice to companies.

He was elected Leader of the LGA Conservative Group in July 2018 and was subsequently elected as LGA Chairman in July 2019

Cllr Nick Forbes CBE – Labour Group Leader and LGA Senior Vice-Chair

Cllr Nick Forbes CBE has been a Labour Councillor since 2000 and was elected Leader of Newcastle City Council in 2011. One of his first decisions was to introduce a Newcastle Living Wage.

He has played a leading role in raising the profile of local government in a time of austerity made economic growth a key feature of his council, securing new financial powers by negotiating one of the first round of City Deals with government. He has worked with leaders from across England to secure devolution packages for local government.

Nick is the vice chair of Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Authority, the regional lead for Transport, as part of the North East Combined Authority. He trained in the NHS, and chairs FRESH, the campaign for a smoke-free North East. Nick sings with the Choir of the Royal Northern Sinfonia and was shortlisted as Stonewall's politician of the year in 2012.

He became LGA Labour Group Leader in 2015 and in 2018 was awarded a CBE for services to local government.

Cllr Izzi Seccombe OBE – Conservative Group Leader and LGA Vice-Chairman

Cllr Izzi Seccombe OBE became the first female Leader of Warwickshire County Council in May 2013. Izzi first came to County politics in 2001 and has held two Portfolio roles. Firstly of Children, Young People and Families from 2005-2010, where she brought together the combined services of Education and Children’s Services, and as Adult Social Care Portfolio Holder between 2010-2013.

As Leader of a minority administration, she is acutely aware of the challenges she faces in office, specifically regarding budget and spending review. At the same time as fitting services to budget constraint being a key message, Izzi encourages a culture of ambition for business and inward investment opportunities, increasing Warwickshire's impression on a national basis. In 2017, Councillor Seccombe was awarded an OBE for services to local government.

Izzi was previously Chairman of the LGA’s Community Wellbeing Board from 2014 to 2018 and, following this, was elected LGA Deputy Chairman in July 2018. She was subsequently elected as Conservative Group Leader and LGA Vice-Chairman in July 2019.

Cllr Howard Sykes MBE – Liberal Democrat Group Leader and LGA Vice-Chair

First elected in 1987, Cllr Howard Sykes MBE has 30 years’ local government service, and has held a range of senior roles including Leader, Deputy Leader of the Council, Executive Member for Regeneration, Chair of Licensing and now Leader of the Opposition on Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council. In addition he is a member of the Greater Manchester Transport Authority and was Vice Chair of the Association of Greater Manchester Councils.

From 1997 to 2006 he was the Chief Executive of the Association of Liberal Democrat Councillors.

In recent years he held the roles of Chief Whip of the Liberal Democrat Group at the LGA and LGA National Peer, where he helped support Liberal Democrat council groups and managing the pool of Liberal Democrat peers.

He was awarded an MBE in 2014 for services to local government, and was elected LGA Liberal Democrat Group Leader in 2017.

Cllr Marianne Overton MBE – Independent Group Leader and LGA Vice-Chair

Cllr Marianne Overton MBE serves on Lincolnshire County Council and North Kesteven District Council, where she sits on the Planning Committee. She is the Independent Group Leader in both authorities and is particularly active on environmental issues, health and social care and education.

Marianne's education was spread between South Africa and London. She served as a Non-Executive Director for NHS Lincolnshire Primary Care Trust and a Governor of the University of Lincoln. She is a qualified biologist and a past Chairman of the Society of Biology (East Midlands) and Fellow of the University of Lincoln. As a Director of Biosearch Expeditions, she has organised many expeditions to remote Third World regions to carry out field research for conservation management. Marianne is very active in Lincolnshire supporting business and communities. Her contribution to local government was recognised with a Queen's New Year's Honour in 2014 and the award of an MBE.

Marianne was first elected as Leader of the LGA Independent Group in June 2011.

The LGA's Office Holders

The Chair, Vice and Deputy Chairs of the Association are nominated annually by the four political groups, and approved by the LGA General Assembly. Together they form the LGA board. Under Article 21 of the LGA Articles of Association each group whose share of the weighted electorate exceeds five per cent of the total is entitled to one Vice-Chair. The larger groups are entitled to Deputy Chairs according to proportionality. The Chair of the Association is nominated by the largest group.

Executive Advisory Board Members

The LGA Executive Advisory Board comprises the members of the Leadership Board, the Chairs of the policy boards and representatives of Wales and the nine English regions. The County Councils Network (CCN), District Councils Network (DCN) and the Special Interest Group of Municipal Authorities (SIGOMA) also have a non-voting place, along with the chair of Local Partnerships.

Board Lead Members

Each policy Board includes a Chair, Vice-Chair and two Deputy Chairs – one nominated by each group. Collectively these are known as ‘Lead Members' and they oversee delivery of the priorities in the LGA's Business Plan, particularly between Board meetings.

LGA President / Vice-Presidents

Every year the General Assembly elects a President of the Association. The four Groups also appoint a number of Vice-Presidents. The President and Vice-Presidents are parliamentary representatives from the House of Commons, House of Lords, and they represent and champion the interests of local government in Parliament.