Metro Mayors

On 5 May 2017, six Metro Mayors were elected for the first time to lead combined authorities in: Cambridgeshire and Peterborough, Greater Manchester, Liverpool City Region, the Tees Valley, the West of England and the West Midlands. The six combined authority areas account for a total population of 9.5 million people, almost 20% of the population in England.

On 4 May 2018, Dan Jarvis MP was elected as the first Mayor of the Sheffield City Region. On 2 May 2019, Jamie Driscoll was elected as the first mayor of the North of Tyne Region.

Metro mayors and are directly elected by citizens in their area, and are chairs of their area's combined authority. The mayor, in partnership with the combined authority, exercises the powers and functions devolved from Government, set out in the local area's devolution deal.

There are three Labour Metro mayors:

Andy Burnham, Mayor of Greater Manchester

Dan Jarvis MP, Mayor of Sheffield City Region

Steve Rotheram, Mayor of Liverpool City Region

Jamie Driscoll, Mayor of North of Tyne

The devolved powers and the level of funding varies across the combined authorities. Whilst the powers included in most of the devolution deals focus on housing, skills and transport, Greater Manchester combined authority also has devolved powers and funding relating to criminal justice and health and social care. For example, while all of the directly elected mayors have responsibility for franchised bus services, only some will have responsibility for new key route networks of local authority roads.

Since 2000, London has also had a directly elected mayor but the role, and the structures supporting it, differ from the areas listed above. The current Mayor of London is Labour’s Sadiq Khan.